I Really Fucking Hate Copywriting

But a girl’s gotta eat

Kathy Copeland Padden
3 min readJun 12, 2022
Fuckballs.

I don’t care who tries to dress up this ugly truth about life as a writer. I’ve seen job listings looking for a “creative copywriter” which is a grievous contradiction in terms.

Good for a laugh, though.

Creativity has no place in traditional copywriting. You’re selling something. Your work will end up on some plastic surgeon’s or lawyer’s webpage. No writing credit. Copywriting is the most boring and unfulfilling way you can spend your work day.

Some people profess to love copywriting. These are the same people who eat plain graham crackers and enjoy elevator music. Too much excitement or thinking outside the box frightens them. They prefer being handed a brief with way too many keywords.

C’mon people. Keyword stuffing is so 2012.

Copywriting is dull as dishwater. I mean, how many times can you make laser liposuction sound enticing when you have to figure out how to reword the same information over and over?

That’s not creative. It’s robotic. And boring. Did I mention the colossal boredom? It really can’t be overstated.

Yeah, I’m whining. Deal.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m grateful as hell to be working after months of looking. I also have…

--

--

Kathy Copeland Padden

is a music fanatic, classic film aficionado, and history buff surfing the End Times wave like a boss. Come along!