Six Supah Dupah Freaking Fantastic Double Albums

When more is better

Kathy Copeland Padden
6 min readFeb 3, 2023
Yeah we can skip Revolution #9

Doubles albums are the crap shoot of the music world. They are either genius or an aural assault — there’s precious little gray area. The artist in question has either had a prolific bout of inspiration(genius), or they wanted a dumping ground for random tracks they didn’t know what to do with(assault.) It’s no easy feat to produce two disks worth of Grade-A material.

But these artists managed to pull it off with (seemingly) effortless mastery. Three of these albums rank among my top ten favorite albums. Can you guess which ones?

And yes, I know there are many other worthy contenders but these are my favorites. If I left your picks out that’s no reason to curse my progeny for all time. Have mercy, people. I’m doing my best here.

Exile on Main Street

The Rolling Stones

Call me the tumblin’ di-yice

OK, I’m giving one of my favorites away right out of the gate, but whatevah. This, right here, is my favorite album ever. It also includes my favorite song of all time. With “Exile on Main Street, the Stones hit their early 70s groove with back-to-back Blues and Rock…

--

--

Kathy Copeland Padden

is a music fanatic, classic film aficionado, and history buff surfing the End Times wave like a boss. Come along!