Watching Christmas Mass With My Grandson, The Wee Heathen

Talking Catholicism with the kid

Kathy Copeland Padden
4 min readDec 29, 2021
Jesus, Mary, and Joseph!

On Christmas Day, I was channel surfing with my nine-year-old grandson and happened upon a televised Catholic Mass already in progress.

What a thrill!

Now, I’ve told this kid millions of stories about my Catholic upbringing. The good, the bad, and the extremely ugly. These discussions usually end with The Boy expressing relief that I wasn’t raising him Catholic.

I felt the compulsion to give him a little peek into what my world was like at his age, so I didn’t change the channel, saying, “ugh, gross, PTSD” as was my usual custom.

“Wanna see what I endured every single Christmas?”

“Sure, Mum-Mum.”(The child is a master at humoring me.)

We tuned in not long before the Consecration (the wine into blood and bread into body bit), and I automatically began reciting all the responses with the TV congregation. No thought was involved. The words still poured out after decades without a single brain neuron firing.

“You remember all that?”

“Sure I do, I heard it thousands of times.”

“Thousands?”

--

--

Kathy Copeland Padden

is a music fanatic, classic film aficionado, and history buff surfing the End Times wave like a boss. Come along!